01
Aug
11

Spineless Obama

The Tea Party terrorists who have hijacked the American political system have shown the Democrats the horrendous mistake they made in nominating for President the junior Senator from Illinois in 2008. In the three and a half years since his election, Barack Obama has shown repeatedly that he has no spine, no backbone, no courage. He is a political capon.

In 2008, I voted for a Democrat who would fight for universal health care coverage. Instead I got Barack Obama.

In 2008, I voted for a Democrat who would prosecute the violators of the Constitution in the Bush Administration. Instead, I got Barack Obama.

In 2008, I voted for a Democrat who would fight to reduce military spending and end the seemingly endless wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. Instead, I got  Barack Obama.

In 2008, I voted for a Democrat who would stand up to the liars at False News and the Republican propaganda machine. Instead, I got Barack Obama.

In 2008, I voted for a Democrat who would protect the social safety net AND cut needless spending to fight the deficit. Instead, I got Barack Obama.

I will hold my nose in 2012 and vote to re-elect Barack Obama, but only because he won’t be as bad as whomever the Republicans nominate, though at the rate things are going, even that could be doubtful.

2 Responses to “Spineless Obama”


  1. August 1, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    I understand your anger, but he’s tried damn hard to keep his promises. The first two years he had to deal with a threat of a filibuster at every turn. Universal coverage would have been nice, but we got the best deal possible under the circumstances.
    Everyone seems to have forgotten it took a herculean effort to get the Recovery Act through.
    Also, the debt deal isn’t really that bad. No cuts in Social Security or Medicare benefits. No balanced budget. No need to repeat this nightmare six months from now. Oh, and he saved us from an economic disaster.

    • August 1, 2011 at 5:14 pm

      Thank you for your comment, Bird! I can understand your point and I was willing to give the President the benefit of the doubt, but after disappointment after disappointment, I have come to see that the Mr. Obama’s first reaction when facing a challenge is to roll over. On health care, he compromised away Universal coverage before the debate even began. And, he left the construction of the proposal to Congress rather than presenting his own and then beginning from there. Lyndon Johnson would NEVER have done that. We need a fighter, not an aloof academic who sits above the fray and is too good to dirty his hands with politics. I want to be inspired. He doesn’t inspire me anymore. That he’s not a Republican is not good enough.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 404 hits

Archives

August 2011
S M T W T F S
     
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

